Apply Now

Please make sure to review the screening criteria before you apply. All applications must be submitted online using the link below. The application process will require you to:

  • Pay an application fee. This may only be paid online.
  • Upload a copy of a photo ID.
  • Upload your two most recent pay stubs.

Your application won’t be considered complete until you pay the pre-lease deposit, which is equal to one-month’s rent. No application will be reviewed until the pre-lease deposit has been received. The pre-lease deposit can be paid by money order, cashiers check or online payment. 3rd-party fees incurred during online payment are non-refundable.

  • Online – CLICK HERE. Note-Credit card payments will be charged a 2-4% service charge, which will be retroactively charged to you.
  • Mailed or dropped off to 1012 N 5th St, Minneapolis, MN 55411. Make sure to address the envelope to Northwoods Servicing.

APPLY NOW

SCREENING CRITERIA/REQUIREMENTS 

Income

Each applicant must demonstrate a minimum of 2.5 times the monthly rent of the proposed unit to ensure the applicant’s ability to pay the monthly rent. However, an applicant will be allowed an exception to the income requirement if the applicant can demonstrate a history of successful rent payment with the same or lower ratio of income to rent. 

If an applicant fails to meet the requirements of this section, NWS, at its sole discretion, may approve the applicant with conditions of prepayment of rent or additional security deposit in an amount not to exceed state law or local ordinances. 

Evictions and Rental History 

Applicants must have a positive housing history. NWS strongly prefers at least 2 years of recent positive rental history verified by professional landlord references; however, insufficient rental history will not form a basis for denial unless the applicant in bad faith withholds rental history information that might otherwise form a basis for denial. 

An applicant’s eviction and rental history will be reviewed and considered as follows: 

  1. An eviction action pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 504 or other equivalents in other states that occurred 3 or more years before the applicant submits the application will NOT form a basis for denial; 
  2. An eviction action pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 504 or other equivalents in other states that did not result in a judgment entered against the applicant will NOT form a basis for denial;
  3. An eviction action pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 504 or other equivalents in other states that occurred less than 3 years from the date the applicant submits the application AND resulted in a judgment entered against the applicant WILL form a basis for denial. 
  4. Verification, from a professional landlord reference, that applicant owes prior or current landlord for rent, damages, or related charges under lease agreement WILL form a basis for denial, unless the applicant obtained a judicial finding that the applicant is not responsible for the rent, damages, or related charges. 

Credit 

A credit report will be run on every applicant. A credit score, by itself, will not form the basis for denial, but information within the credit report may be used to form the basis of a denial of the application if the information in the credit report demonstrates a failure to pay rent or utility bills. Insufficient credit history will not form the basis for denial, unless the applicant in bad faith withholds credit history information that might otherwise form a basis for denial. 

If an applicant fails to meet the requirements of this section, NWS, at its sole discretion, may approve the applicant with conditions of prepayment of rent or additional security deposit in an amount not to exceed state law or local ordinances. 

Criminal History 

Any criminal history, NOT included in one of the exceptions below, will be a basis for denial. Prior to denying any applicant on the basis of criminal history, we will consider supplemental evidence provided by the applicant, if provided at the time of application submittal. 

Exceptions:

a. Any arrest or charge that did not result in conviction of a crime;

b. Participation in or completion of a diversion or a deferral of judgment program, including but not limited to pre-charge or pretrial diversion, stay of adjudication, continuance for dismissal, or continuance without prosecution;

c. Any conviction that has been vacated or expunged;

d. Any conviction for a crime that is no longer illegal in the state of Minnesota;

e. Any conviction or any other determination or adjudication in the juvenile justice system, except under procedures pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 260B.130;

f. A petty misdemeanor offense;

g. Any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor or felony conviction stemming from the following traffic offenses: reckless driving, driving without a license, driving with a suspended or revoked license, and DUI that did not result in additional charges for injury to a person;

h. Any conviction for misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor offenses for which the dates of sentencing are older than 3 years;

i. Except as indicated in paragraph (j) below, any criminal conviction for felony offenses for which the dates of sentencing are older than 7 years; however, an applicant may be denied on the basis of a conviction of the illegal manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802), or for those same offenses that mandate denial of tenancy in federally assisted housing subject to federal regulations, including but not limited to when any member of the household is subject to a lifetime sex offender registration requirement under a state sex offender registration program; or

j. Any criminal conviction for the following felony offenses for which the dates of sentencing are older than 10 years: first-degree assault (Minnesota Statutes section 609.221), first-degree arson (Minnesota Statutes section 609.561), aggravated robbery (Minnesota Statutes section 609.245), first-degree murder (Minnesota Statutes section 609.185), second-degree murder (Minnesota Statutes section 609.19), third-degree murder (Minnesota Statutes 609.195), first degree manslaughter (Minnesota Statutes 609.20), kidnapping (Minnesota Statutes section 609.25), or first-degree criminal sexual conduct (Minnesota Statutes section 609.342).

Age 

Applicants must be 18 years of age or provide proof of emancipation. 

Attitude 

NWS reserves the right to refuse rental to anyone: (1) under the influence of illegal drugs or alcohol during the application process; (2) rude, belligerent, or using profanity when communicating with staff and employees; or (3) asked by staff to leave the premises and refuses. 

Fair Housing Statement 

NWS is a fair housing provider and does not discriminate against persons on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, familial status, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age. 

Denial 

Within 14 days of rejecting a rental application, NWS will notify the applicant in writing of the denial and identify the criteria the applicant failed to meet. 

All applications, including credit verification and background checks, are processed by Rental History Reports. Rental History Reports is an agency that performs all screening activities for Northwoods Servicing. An applicant’s credit history, criminal history, and application are kept confidential and are not disclosed to any other person or entity without the applicant’s express authorization. Please direct all inquiries regarding your file to the following contact details: 

 

Address :7900 West 78th Street, Suite 400 Edina, Minnesota 55439 

Telephone: (952) 545-3953 or (888) 389-4023 

www.rentalhistoryreports.com/Applicant

 

FAQS

  • Is the pre-lease deposit required? Yes. An application will not be considered complete without a pre-lease deposit. Applications are not reviewed until they are complete.
  • Is the pre-lease deposit refundable? If an applicant is approved and changes their mind the pre-lease deposit will not be refunded. If an application is rejected the pre-lease deposit will be refunded less any 3rd-party fees. If an applicant is accepted and signs a lease, the pre-lease deposit will be converted to a security deposit and refunded upon lease termination subject to the conditions outlined in the pre-lease agreement and lease.
  • What is the income requirement? Each applicant must demonstrate a minimum of 2.5 times the monthly rent of the proposed unit to ensure the applicant’s ability to pay the monthly rent. However, an applicant will be allowed an exception to the income requirement, if the applicant can demonstrate a history of successful rent payment with the same or lower ratio of income to rent.
  • What is the application fee? $50 per adult.